You are here

Scholastic Tournament Blog: Spring Fever Chess Tournament

Winners of the K-6 team division

by Richard Pointer, Scholastic Coordinator


This past Sunday, scholastic chess returned to Saint Louis University with the 2017 Spring Fever Tournament. As word has spread about our tournaments, new players and teams have continued to sign up and compete. With such wonderful weather and a great location, the tournament was able to draw 135 students to participate in both the K-6 and K-12 sections.



In the K-6 section, eleven players entered the final round without a loss. The K-12 section looked similar with six players going undefeated in the first three rounds. That meant that final round games at the top tables would require a bit of good luck and a lot of hard work to take home a trophy.


An enthusiastic crowd gathered to see who would be crowned Spring Fever champions. In the elementary section, CJ Elam took home the biggest trophy with a perfect finish, followed by Thomas Wei (2nd), Aishwarya Pande (3rd), Anikait Rawat (4th), and Tyler He (5th). In the upper section, Rowen Riney played well to finish in first place, with Amogh Mahambare (2nd), Joshua Fundler (3rd), Asish Panda (4th), and Cole Tatro (5th) rounding out the top five.


The top female finisher for the K-12 section was Anushka Rawat. Celina Zhou was the top female finisher in the K-6 section with 3.5 points.



With new teams competing for the first time at Spring Fever some of the old order was overturned, but the top teams end up being familiar to those following our past tournaments. Oak Brook Elementary took home first place with a victory over newcomer Glenridge Elementary on tiebreaks. In the K-12 section, three-person team Hazelwood West High School was edged out in the last round by Parkway Southwest Middle for the first place prize.


Congratulations to all of the winners, and thank you for all the families that made this tournament possible. Our next tournament will be Mayhem in May, Saturday May 20th, at Christian Brothers College High School (CBC).

Register online here.