You are here

IM Dorsa Derakhshani

Title:
International Master
Rating:
2270
Teaching Rating Range:
All Levels!
Accepting Students?
Yes
Rates:
$25
Lessons Offered Via:
Zoom, Google Meet

 

About Me

I'm in the last year of my undergraduate studies in Biology and Health Sciences on the Pre-Medicine track at SLU. I've been playing chess since I was 6 and got my Fide Trainer title at 18.

Specialties

I enjoy encouraging students to think more critically about any position and improving their analytic and reasoning skills. I do that through analyzing games, showing you puzzles, and finding you the most suitable opening to your style.

Good Student Match:

Anyone who loves chess and is ready to learn.

 

Playing Experience:

I scored my first national gold in girls under 8 back in Iran and have competed on their national team. After winning the Asian Youth Championship 3 times, I moved to Europe for a year to play for different leagues, and I have been to 34 countries to compete. I moved to the USA for college, and now, I represent the USA in tournaments and got bronze in the USA women's championship 2020. As captain of SLU's women team, we have also gained many collegiate awards for the university.

Teaching Method:

This depends mostly on what the student wants and how much time they have for chess on their own. I try to be flexible with my methods and adapt to cater to each person's interest in chess.

Other Resources:

I've been working for the chess club since 2019 and some of the recorded lectures on our youtube channel playlist could help introduce my teaching style: https://youtube.com/playlist?list=PLVWaFpMwtaGhU4UFAPWyIgx1ackJLVcjV