You are here

2018 Sinquefield Cup

Catch the last stop of the Grand Chess Tour!

The 2018 Sinquefield Cup is an elite international event, featuring 10 of the strongest chess players in the world. Over the course of nine rounds, these competitors will battle for $300,000 in prize money, points toward the Grand Chess Tour, and the coveted title of 2018 Sinquefield Cup Champion.

DATES August 17 - 28, 2018
LOCATION Saint Louis Chess Club
FORMAT 10-Player Round Robin
PRIZE FUND $300,000
SPECTATORS More information coming soon!
Photos For event photos, visit our Flickr page


Alexander Grischuk • Fabiano Caruana • Hikaru Nakamura •  Levon Aronian • Maxime Vachier-Lagrave  Shakhriyar Mamedyarov • Sergey Karjakin  • Viswanathan Anand • Wesley So • Magnus Carlsen (WC)

Schedule of Events

DATE TIME* EVENT
Thursday, August 16 1:00 PM Ultimate Moves
Friday, August 17 4-5:30 PM Autograph Signing
  6:00 PM Opening Ceremony**
Saturday, August 18 1:00 PM Round 1
Sunday, August 19 1:00 PM Round 2
Monday, August 20 1:00 PM Round 3
Tuesday, August 21 1:00 PM Round 4
Wednesday, August 22 1:00 PM Round 5
Thursday, August 23   Rest Day
Friday, August 24 1:00 PM Round 6
Saturday, August 25 1:00 PM Round 7
Sunday, August 26 1:00 PM Round 8
Monday, August 27 1:00 PM Round 9 
Tuesday, August 28 1:00 PM Playoff (if necessary)
  6:00 PM Closing Ceremony**

* All times listed are CDT (GMT-5). Dates and times subject to change.

**Private Event by invite only

Sinquefield Cup Prize Fund

PLACE PRIZE PLACE PRIZE
1st $75,000 6th $20,000
2nd $50,000 7th $15,000
3rd $40,000 8th $15,000
4th $30,000 9th $15,000
5th $25,000 10th $15,000
Total Prize Fund $300,000

 

August 17th, 2018 6:00 PM   through   August 28th, 2018 1:00 PM
Saint Louis Chess Club
4657 Maryland Ave.
Saint Louis, MO 63108
United States
Phone: (314) 361-2437
Email:
Round 1, August 18 $ 10.00
Round 2, August 19 $ 10.00
Round 3, August 20 $ 10.00
Round 4, August 21 $ 10.00
Round 5, August 22 $ 10.00
Round 6, August 24 $ 10.00
Round 7, August 25 $ 10.00
Round 8, August 26 $ 10.00
Round 9, August 27 $ 10.00
9-Round Pass $ 80.00